Skip to content

Treasure in a Field

January 12, 2009

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys the field (Matthew 13:44).” 

If I’m being honest, I take the gospel for granted. There was never a treasure chest moment for me. I was born into a Christian family that took me to church every time the doors were open. I’ve heard the good news of Jesus since before I can remember. So much of western Christianity is like that. We are rich in knowledge about Jesus but poor in the realization of what that knowledge is. 

Anything we have in abundance, we start to take for granted. Take wealth and stuff for instance. Americans, myself included, take stuff and money and leisure for granted like it is our God given right regardless of what we do to earn it. A missionary friend of mine described that students in Kenya would memorize the entire New Testament in a week, never sleeping, for the prize of a Bible, something I have laying all over my office and house. 

The gospel is kind of like wealth for us. It’s always there when we need it. We don’t have to go without it. We can waste our time on other things without being afraid of losing it. But for someone who has never heard the gospel and experiences the heart filling, mind numbing truth of forgiveness and grace and sacrifice that the gospel brings, it is a treasure worth selling everything for. The truth of the matter is, if we knew the condition of our own hearts and the true beauty of the gospel, we could do nothing but sell all and follow Him. 

I am rich in distractions. I have interests, hobbies, friends, books, television, movies and music that vie for my attention, my heart and my worship. The question is, am I willing to forsake all for the sake of the Kingdom of God? That is a question I have to ask myself daily, and the remedy to that struggle is found in staring deep into the mystery of the gospel of Jesus Christ. When I count it much, all else, including myself, will be counted little. Lord make me nothing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

