Skip to content

Blog Updates

August 18, 2010

I’m starting a new semester teaching Advanced CLC (which means, Biblical and Christian Worldview with a good dose of Christian History to public school students who mostly don’t go to church) today, I also will be starting some other work this fall, along with trudging through seminary. But, I have a couple of projects I want to work on, so I’ll be using this space as an outlet.

First, for fun, I’m going to be re-reading Tolkein’s  The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I read them the first time when I picked up the dusty paperbacks from my uncle’s attic when I was in middle school and have been a huge fan ever since, but I haven’t read them as an adult, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. However, I’m going to be analyzing them for the worldview they represent, how they line up with the biblical and Christian worldview, and how they are influenced by Tolkien’s life, so I’ll be reading some bio’s and analysis along with the trilogy and reviewing them here (this is my nerd project, or so my wife tells me).

Second, I’m going to be digging into the philosophy of Blaise Pascal and Rene Descartes, two french philosophers from the 1600’s. I want to compare and contrast their worldviews and see how their ideas have effected western civilization and how they are still influencing (and to tip my hand a little, in Pascal’s case should be influencing) culture and theology today.

I also anticipate writing some more book reviews as I get to the ever growing stack by my desk, chair and bed. Who knows what else, but I’m looking forward to it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 1:50 am

    Be sure and look for the books by Joseph Pearce and Bradley Birzer on Tolkien. I enjoy your blog. We are cut from the same cloth.

  2. cland13 permalink*
    August 23, 2010 1:08 pm

    I’d have to agree with you there. I’ll be sure to check out those books, I’m reading Kreeft’s Philosophy of the LOTR right now, it’s very interesting with some great insights, very Catholic, but good nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

