Skip to content

Top 10 Albums of ’10: 10-6

December 8, 2010

#10 – Woven Hand – Threshing Floor

I truly enjoy the music of Woven Hand, although I recognize, it certainly isn’t for everyone. The genre, Southern Gothic Folk Rock with Reformed Lyrics, doesn’t necessarily lend itself to a wide audience, which likely explains why the Colorado resident is most popular in places like Sweden and Holland. His 2010 effort, Threshing Floor, isn’t my favorite album of his, but it squeaked onto the list because of it’s originality and creativity. Here is a sample from the album, a song called “His Rest:”

#9 – Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

The truth is, it’s a real disappointment that this album is so low on the list, but for me at least, it just didn’t live up to the ridiculously high expectations after The Neon Bible. As usual, the lyrics are deep and thought provoking on The Suburbs and the music is creative, but there just isn’t a song on here I feel the need to keep coming back to. There is, however, a video I keep watching for their song “The Suburbs:”

#8 – The National – High Violet

I have heard about The National for awhile, but I’ve never really listened to much until this album came out. Excellent music, a unique kind of rock sound, introspective lyrics. Their album High Violet is Good stuff. Here is the video for their song “Bloodbuzz Ohio:”

#7 – Spoon – Transference

Spoon is another band I was familiar with, but had never been a huge fan of until recently. After enjoying Transference I devoured their back catalog and found much to enjoy there. Some great, straightforward indie rock with (big surprise for me) interesting lyrics and infinitely enjoyable songs. Here is the video for “Written in Reverse:”

#6 – Frightened Rabbit – The Winter of Mixed Drinks

Another great new discovery for me in 2010. This Irish indie rock band should be (and will be) way more popular than they already are. The Winter of Mixed Drinks is a great step in the right direction. Whether or not you are a fan of this style of music usually, I dare you to watch the following video and not enjoy it (at least a little bit):

Albums #5-1 coming tomorrow…if you weren’t a fan of anything today, I’m sure you’ll find something to like in the top five.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Book permalink
    December 8, 2010 6:10 pm

    Your last bit of music was gifted compared to this stuff……… sorry……….
    and of course nothing compares to Scott.

    ….and I had such high hopes for you!!

    I thought I had great eclectic tastes in music…but your eclectic and mine shall never mix too often, I fear………..

  2. cland13 permalink*
    December 8, 2010 7:12 pm

    Book,

    You know my last comment was specifically directed with you in mind 🙂

    Your problem is not with my taste, but with indie rock in general.

    I know you’ll at least like one album tomorrow, possibly a couple more. I know you won’t like at least one, but I knew you weren’t going to like the five today.

    Plus, I’m sure we would agree on a lot of older music, but this is picking 10 from 2010.

    I’d be interested, What are your 10 favorite albums from 2010?

Leave a Reply

